Morning Person

For as long as I can remember, I have been one of the few, the proud, the annoying, morning people. Now I think there’s a misconception about morning people. We don’t jump out of bed at 5:30am with a smile on our face and a pep in our step. Those people do exist. I hate those people. However, morning people, according to my definition, are just regular people who can’t sleep in for the f@&%$#g life of them. I am one of THOSE morning people. It’s not by choice and I don’t love it, but one of the perks to this “lifestyle” is that I almost always have a decent breakfast. Today was no different. I whimpered and crawled out of bed at 5:45am, made some rocket fuel/coffee, then threw together one of my favorite breakfasts, the smoothie bowl. There are many variations of the smoothie bowl, but here is a very sleepy image of mine this morning, which consisted of frozen bananas and berries, coconut water, and a spoonful of Greek yogurt. I topped it with shredded unsweetened coconut and homemade granola:

  
Sure, there are fancier versions of the old smoothie bowl. Many people make them look like art while mine is more of a Pinterest fail. Here is one such example:   

  
But I would be willing to bet mine tastes just as good (close? Maybe?) and also I was up before the sun, so lay off me. 

The rest of my day looked like this:

Lunch: ok, super random. I had leftover sweet potato and carrot purée and arugula that I needed to use up so I just mixed the two. It looks like vomit so there’s no way I’m posting a pic of this one. 

Dinner: sweet potato and black bean tacos with an avocado and pepita sauce.

  
Snacks: dark chocolate square before bed

Exercise: 60 minutes of hot yoga then I helped a friend out by subbing (very poorly) for his volleyball team.

Thoughts on today: so many sweet potatoes. I had a bunch to use up from my CSA and now they are finally gone. I was still a little low on the greens, I need to work on that. Otherwise, a pretty solid day I think. Albeit low in protein, but I’m not participating in any weightlifting competitions any time soon, so I should be good.

Comment. Go ahead.

