#breakroomproblems

Good morning, pharm friends (which I’m pretty sure is just my mom at this point)! This morning was cold, windy, and drizzly, which made it especially challenging to get out of bed. I somehow managed, but mostly because I knew I had already roasted apples the night before and was semi-excited to make my roasted apple oatmeal this morning (exciting life I lead – I know). SO, I tucked and rolled out of bed, made my way to the coffee maker (first thing’s first), and threw together some oatmeal which just so happened to be perfect for this dismal day. I made two servings in 1 pot, which consisted of 1 cup of oats, 2 cups of water (I didn’t have any milk on hand), 1 tablespoon of chia seeds, 2 tablespoons of apple cider reduction, 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tablespoon of maple syrup. I topped it with the apple I had roasted the night before in honey and cinnamon. It doesn’t look like much:

  
But it was seriously worth getting out of bed for. Sadly, this is what my breakfast looks like most days. A black to-go cup of coffee and something out of a Tupperware container. I don’t typically eat at home because I’m just not hungry at 6:30am. It’s probably the ONE time of day when I’m not hungry.

The problem, is inevitably, once I get to the office. More specifically, the dreaded break room. Now the folks I work with are VERY sweet. Unfortunately, so are the treats they bring in… Every…Single…Day… Today happened to be pumpkin bread. And chocolate chip bread. And a variety of breads and pastries from Standard Baking Company. 

  
Well….. shit. If that wasn’t bad enough, I also forgot to pack a lunch today. The perfect storm.

Now before I go to far with this “holier than thou”shit, the break room wasn’t the worst of my worries today. Instead of my day looking like this:

Breakfast: pastries

Lunch: pastries

Dinner: regret

It looked more like this:

Breakfast: roasted apple oatmeal

Lunch: Kale, lentil, and butternut squash soup with whole wheat pretzel rods from Lois’ Natural food store, which is walking distance from my office

Dinner: my best buddy wanted pizza with the Patriots game. I was down for ordering out, but I wanted a salad. Unfortunately my salad came looking like this:

  
If it fits in your palm, it’s too damn small. My buddy also bought me a bottle of prosecco to celebrate the fact that I did a handstand in yoga class. So I had 2 (3?) glasses of that… Plus the following….

Snacks: triscuits and cheese, sour patch watermelons, and chewy sweet tarts. Damn cute boyfriends and good friends who bring me junk food!!

Exercise: 75 minutes of hot yoga (woah! throwing in a curveball with the extra 15 minutes!)

There’s always tomorrow?

Comment. Go ahead.

