Trick-or-Treat (and I DEFINITELY chose treat)

This weekend was, as anticipated, less than healthy. I was hoping it would just be limited to Saturday (Halloween), but it somehow snuck into my Sunday as well. Luckily the “guilt” of this was overshadowed by what a wonderful weekend I had. I didn’t really focus on my food intake so much (clearly) so I have very few food pictures of this weekend, but here is what my weekend looked like:

Saturday:

Today actually started out pretty well (health-wise)

Spent the morning (literally… from 7-10am) in my second home (Portland Power Yoga) and did two back-to-back hot yoga classes totaling 2.5 hours of working out. This was to make up for the fact that I wasn’t going to be back from Boston in time on Sunday to get to a class. After this, I had a Lara Bar (my go-to meal when I don’t have time for anything else – they’re almost all unprocessed!) and a smoothie from Whole Foods. We then rushed home to get ready for the weekend and hit the road. I snacked on a banana on the way down to Boston, still recovering from the lengthy yoga class.

Once in Boston, my best buddy’s mom fed us some delicious turkey chili for lunch. Still… not so bad, right? While we passed out candy (which I didn’t have ANY of), I snacked on some apple and goat cheese crostinis that I made (but I only had two!!) and drank red wine (here is where  the “trouble” started). We explored the Beacon Hill neighborhood which was SO much fun:

   

 
  
Later that evening, my sister flew in from a conference and (after a few more glasses of wine) we made our way to the North End, A.K.A my version of heaven. I’m bummed I didn’t get a picture of this place, but we had an excellent dinner at Vinoteca di Monica, which for me was green spaghetti and turkey meatballs with LOTS more wine. After dinner we rolled our way to Modern Pastry for the (obviously necessary) cannoli. One final nightcap and then we called it a night. Could have been worse, right? But then Sunday happened…

We woke up on Sunday feeling less than stellar (see above wine consumption). We had some scrambled eggs, an English muffin, and an apple. And proceeded to drink coffee on their roof deck (rough life, eh?)

  
 My best buddy’s mom also graciously offered us some pumpkin spice donuts, which we started to eat, but they unfortunately weren’t that good, so I only ate 1/2. Again, not too bad… right? We headed home midday and by the time we got back, we were relatively hungry. We both had leftovers from the North End, which were just as delicious today… And some extra baguette bread… And a beer (a little hair of the dog, we thought?)… Followed by a nap. I woke up feeling like a TOTAL waste of life, and decided we NEEDED to go for a walk. We walked the entire perimeter of Portland and (as our walks often do) ended up at our favorite bar near my condo (are you sensing a trend for when things start to fall apart nutritionally??). We were hungry again by this point, so we made our way to one of our healthier options, which is a vegetarian restaurant around the corner. We had a delicious meal of Brussels sprouts, fried brown rice, and extra veggies,  and of course….. wine. As we made our way home, we thought it would be an EXCELLENT idea to stop at the convenient store and pick up “something sweet”, which ended up being EVERYTHING sweet. Luckily, I fell asleep on the couch before getting into EVERYTHING we bought, but I did manage to get through a half of a bag of Sour Patch Watermelons first.

So yes, this weekend could have been healthier. My only regrets really were the candy and maybeeee 1-2 of the glasses of wine each night. But we made some good memories this weekend and I got a much needed day off from exercise on Sunday (other than our long walk/pub-crawl), so all is well that ends well :)

Comment. Go ahead.

