That’s the way the cookie crumbles…

Where to start… 

So last night, around 3:30am, I woke up to a text from one of my college friends who was supposed to visit this weekend saying she couldn’t come (in more words than that). To say I was disappointed is probably an understatement. We had been planning this weekend for months and I was shocked at the lack of respect for my planning. I still am, to be honest.

So I had a very active lesson in the age old saying that you can’t control other people’s actions, you can only control how you respond to them. My other friend was still on her way, I still had great stuff planned that we could do with two people. Life still isn’t all that bad, despite my disappointment. 

So, despite tossing and turning and getting very little sleep after that text, I got up and went to yoga at 6am, which significantly cleared my head. No longer feeling sorry for myself, I came home and had some yogurt, granola and a banana before starting my day. My friend arrived around noon and we had a great lunch at a nearby cafe:

  
I got a roasted vegetable salad with goat cheese and a chai tea latte. 

We wandered to the mall after that for some retail therapy then returned for some red wine, popcorn, and plantain chips. Ok LOTS of red wine. We meandered downtown for onnnnne more unnecessary drink before making our way to dinner at a fantastic Thai restaurant, which I regrettably didn’t get a picture of. We shared brussel sprouts and I got a stir fry with shrimp, crab, veggies, and rice. Andddd another drink (a John Daly with lemonade and Thai iced tea… I mean COME ON). By that point, I was toast, so after a long, unhealthy, but totally worth-it day, we made our way home for an early bedtime. And maybe a handful of chocolate covered almonds. Or three. 

Progress, not perfection, right?

Comment. Go ahead.

