Fail to plan and plan to fail…

OR wake up at 5am to meal prep… Let’s face it. Both options sucks. While I made a surprisingly delicious bread the previous day, I had forgotten completely about my lunch. SO, since I’m attempting to be healthy and attempting to save money, I chose option B this morning. But first, let’s rewind to the bread for a second. This bread is surprisingly delicious, you guys. And what’s weirder, is that it’s Paleo. In case you have never had the pleasure of meeting someone who does CrossFit and you haven’t heard of the Paleo diet, it is essentially only eating things that cavemen would eat. It typically eliminates grains (especially gluten), dairy, and legumes. So it’s mostly meat and vegetables. To make it sound slightly more appealing, the Paleo diet is based on the notion that for optimal health, modern humans should go back to eating real, whole unprocessed foods that are more healthful than harmful to our bodies.
   
That being said, I don’t label my “diet” any particular way, and I would certainly not identify myself as “Paleo” since I eat oatmeal, pasta from time to time, rice, and certainly dairy. BUT, this bread was/is good. It actually stemmed from the fact that I had a bunch of leftover nuts and seeds from a variety of previous recipes (granolas, salads, etc) and since I’m trying to keep the budget a little lower than usual this week, I wanted to find a way to repurpose these pantry items. So I literally googled “nut and seed bread” and the first page I came to was Deliciously Ella’s (who is a favorite of mine) and her Superfood Bread. Now I didn’t end up making this, because I didn’t have psyllium husk powder, and when I went to buy it, it was $12… and I only needed 3 tablespoons…. so there goes the budget. Instead, I ended up finding this recipe for Paleo Bread and adapted it to what I had on hand. for the 3 cups of nuts, I used pecans and almonds. For the 1.5 cups of seeds, I used pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds. I also used 5 whole eggs (instead of the egg whites that were suggested) and a little less than 1/3 of a cup of olive oil. I chose to sweeten with 1.5 tablespoons of maple syrup, which in retrospect, may not have been necessary. So, after this little kitchen experiment, I was lucky enough to have an EXTREMELY filling toast on Monday morning, which looked like this:

  
Except I also put almond butter on it because…. almond butter. I spent $0 on my breakfast groceries this week and this will feed me for the entire week (until I go away on vacation). Of course if I had to buy all of these ingredients from scratch, it could be quite expensive. But it ended up being a great way to use up some leftover odds and ends. What I like about this recipe is that it’s adaptable. I could have put in some cinnamon. I could have used cashews or walnuts. I really could have done whatever I wanted with this recipe, and I still think it would have been delicious. This one was a keeper, for sure.

SO, I was super smug on Sunday after I made this bread and thought “HA! I just made my breakfasts for the entire week. Take THAT mornings!!” Except… I forgot about lunch. Rookie mistake. So I woke up early on Monday and made one of my favorite stir fries, which again I was lucky enough to have the majority of the ingredients for:

  
This is Cookie and Kate’s Spicy Kale and Coconut Stir Fry and instead of using regular rice, I used cauliflower rice (which was just 1/2 of a head of cauliflower pulsed in a food processor until it was a rice-like consistency). Her picture is much prettier than mine, check out her site.  Luckily, this is a relatively easy meal to throw together, but I always hate making full meals in the morning while I’m simulteanously trying to take care of the pups and make myself look moderately presentable. Oh well, you can’t win ’em all (I feel like I say this a lot lately… am I winning ANY of them?!).

So that was lunch, I had a banana as a snack. I did my usual 60 minutes of hot yoga, which was impressively difficult, and dinner was moose meat tacos at a friends house. I reeled it in and only had two tacos, but then I also had this:

  
Which I don’t regret at all, because it’s my favorite beer of all time. I do, however, slightly regret the other glass of wine and the post-taco trail mix (which was essentially mini-oreos, M&Ms, and Muddy Buddies… my friends wife made it for a snack for her post-30 mile run, but never ate it… so I gladly helped her finish it)

  

Comment. Go ahead.

