The Mood for Food

Sometimes… We all get in “a mood.” That mood when nothing feels like it’s going right, you don’t really want to try anymore, and it sounds like a better idea to face plant into a bucket of fried chicken (idk why that’s my example, I don’t even like fried chicken) than to go on with your day. That was yesterday evening and quite honestly most of this morning. Typically, I have some strategies to combat this mood:

1. Move. Walking, yoga, running, whatever. I did this last night (90 min of yoga) and this morning (walked the pups). Unfortunately yoga was less than relaxing and the pups were naughty.

2. Make/drink tea. I did this, too. It tasted like shit. 

3. Clean and make your space more “sacred” or whatever. Did this for well over an hour and realized I’d need a whole day for it to look decent, but at least the bathroom is slightly less gross.

4. Cook. I made meatballs last night. They were fine. Mostly overlooked and more work than they were worth. I don’t like meat that much. Meh.

5. Writing down all the things I’m grateful for and/or meditate. I did this too, and it was probably the only thing that helped.

6. Actually face plant into fried bucket of chicken (or ice cream or whatever). I feel like after trying ALL of the self care things you can possibly think of, if you’re still a miserable bitch, maybe you just need the damn fried chicken. 

So I didn’t necessarily go the face plant route, but I certainly felt like it after all of my usual strategies fail. Regardless, absolutely wasnt “perfect” today. I feel like the fact that by the end of the day I had taken 2 walks, did 75 minutes of yoga, and didn’t “face plant” is a complete win for today. And you know what? By the end of the day, my mood/funk had significantly improved. Maybe there’s something to indulging a little and moving on? Anyway, here’s what the day looked like:

Breakfast – lame and rushed because I walked the pups for longer than anticipated, but I will say, Rx bars are delicious. 


And yes, I got through that whole bottle of water and more by the end of the day. 

Lunch was leftovers from the previous evening but I skipped the noodles and did lots of extra kale with the meatballs this time. 

My snack was kombucha (which we lovingly call booch), an apple, and 1 dark chocolate square.


I really didn’t need this snack because I wasn’t hungry, but it made me happy. 

Dinner was amazing and I’m irritated that I didn’t get a picture bc it was the only pretty thing I ate today and also wasn’t eaten at a desk. It was roasted Delicata squash, cauliflower, chickpeas, and kale with a lemon tahini dressing. Seriously.  So good. My “mini face plant” was ~a glass and a half of wine and some dried mango while watching football, which now that I’m writing it out, doesn’t seem so bad. 


So, yeah. I’m gonna put today in the “win” column. šŸ˜€šŸ·

Comment. Go ahead.

