Winner, winner. Roasted vegetable dinner.

It’s funny/ironic that I wrote the post yesterday about having SUCH a profoundly bad day, and how they really do make you appreciate the good ones. Nothing rings truer right now, as I just had the BEST day juxtaposed next to such an awful one. I honestly don’t think I would have appreciated today as much had yesterday not been as bad because now that I’m looking at it/thinking about it again, it really wasn’t ALL that spectacular, with the exception of about a 15 minute window.

The day actually started with me “losing” my car. Ok, that’s overly dramatic. But what actually happened was that my buddy had used it and moved it the evening before (because he was seeing if the breaks were still making that noise – and they weren’t), but then he forgot where he moved it. So, that lead to me spending a solid 15 minutes wandering my neighborhood looking for my long lost car. And in turn, I was 10 minutes late to work. No big deal, I work late all the time, so this just makes up for that. I hopped in my car and headed off to work. At the first stop sign, my car screamed bloody murder. Do I turn around and trade cars with my buddy? Do I drive it to Lewiston? I’M ALREADY LATE. F*ck it. I’m going. So I drove to work with VERY loud (but maybe still safe?) breaks. Not a great start.

Work was the usual. I ate my eggs with beets and kimchi for breakfast. I had my leftover Moroccan chickpea tomato stew for lunch. I still felt ravenous so I grabbed an apple and kombucha for a snack and just generally got through my day. Nothing great, nothing terrible. Which quite honestly, was still so much better than yesterday that I was generally happy. I got out of work and headed to the Eastern Promenade for my FAVORITE weekly routine – picking up my CSA. This week was beautiful. Beets, delicata squash, kale, onions, garlic, tomatoes, and peppers. All really usable, beautiful veggies. If I was smart, I would have taken a picture for this blog.

Me and my loud-ass car finally made our way home for another one of my favorite rituals – walking the pups and dinner prep before heading off to my ULTIMATE ritual – yoga. As I walked in the door, the owner (one of my favorite people) announced: “ALLIE! I have some good news for YOU!” I assumed she just added one of my favorite classes back, but she continued: “You WON the Bring A Friend Competition!!” I’m sorry… the what?? “You brought the most friends this summer so you can pick out ANY product that I sell and your next month is free.”

Now I know this might not seem like a huge deal, but it is for a few reasons:

  1. I didn’t know there was a competition going on. I just love my little studio and wanted to share it with as many people as possible!
  2. I was going to pick out a towel ($20 in value), but Julie proceeded to emphasize that it was ANY item. EVEN the mats. EVEN the “mac daddy mat”, as she put it. I have had the same mat since I started practicing yoga ~3 years ago. Julie kindly pointed out that my yoga mat was thin (and always was quite honestly) but didn’t have the greatest support because it had “seen better days”. So she gave me…. the mac daddy mat…. which costs $130. PLUS my next month free (another $100). HOLY SHIT I NEVER WIN ANYTHING!
  3. I FREAKING LOVE YOGA AND THIS IS THE BEST THING I COULD HAVE WON!

So needless to say, I took my yoga class, picked out my mat, and headed home (after she made me take a picture for Facebook… after class… not cool, Julie, but it was literally the least I could do for her). I felt like I was on Cloud 9. I got home around the same time as my buddy, chatted his ear off about all the excitement, finished making my roasted veggie bowl:


and then proceeded on with our usual routine of dinner and a documentary. There’s no recipe for the bowl, but it’s a meal I make at least once a week with whatever veggies I have. This time it was delicata squash, onions, and beets. I roasted them at 425 for 30 minutes with olive oil, salt, and garam masala and then threw kale on top for the last 5 minutes of roasting. I topped it with toasted pumpkin seeds and a homemade lemon tahini dressing.

 As I’m writing this, I’m realizing that the majority of my good day stemmed from keeping some of the rituals that I LOVE alive: picking up my CSA, making dinner, walking the dogs, going to yoga, and watching a documentary with my buddy AFTER we catch up on our days. I was lucky enough to win something yesterday, but even without that, I think it would have been a good day, just because I stayed true to myself and prioritized the things I love. A new yoga mat and a free month of classes were just the delicious icing on the cake :)

Comment. Go ahead.

