The First Agreement

As I have mentioned, I am in the midst of a 40 day challenge. The challenge is to do yoga 6 out of 7 days per week, to attend weekly meetings about personal growth, and to read a book called The Four Agreements. Our first assignment was to read the intro and the first chapter which is called The First Agreement. 

The first agreement is simple, but not easy (I’m learning lately that simple often does NOT equal easy). The first agreement is to “be impeccable with your word”.  It describes “your word” as the power you have to create, express, and communicate, to think, and thereby create events in your life. Essentially, the words you use are your “seeds” that you plant. Some words are turned inward and become thoughts or feelings, and some words are turned outward (conversations with others). If those “seeds” are negative, hateful, gossipy, etc, you are planting seeds that will continue to grow and breed negativity. I have been paying MUCH stronger attention to this since reading this chapter. While I previously did not see myself as a gossipy person, I’ve noticed that I often vent about people, which is essentially the same thing. I am spreading my opinion about others (which may or may not be truth, it’s only my opinion) and I’m planting that seed in other peoples’ minds, which likely affects their opinion as well. Similarly, I regularly use negative self-talk. Typically about my appearance, but I called myself stupid many times this week, which is using “my word” against myself. Your word shapes your reality and if you say/think something enough, it becomes true in your own life. While this concept shouldn’t be mind blowing to me, it kind of is. You never really think or realize how much power you hold until you discover the power behind your thoughts and your word. This. This is going to be my focus for a while. I don’t think the importance can be underestimated:

Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love. 

So in the essence of only “using my word for love”, I’m going to ignore the fact that my diet went off the rails last weekend and instead, focus on the fact that I gave myself much needed rest. I came back ready to go on Monday and ate relatively well that day (with the help of my mom and an Ethiopian restaurant. I literally didn’t cook at all). 

Tuesday was a tough day overall, but food-wise I started with a yogurt, a protein bar and an apple. Lunch was this gorgeous kale salad that I ordered from a local shop:


And dinner was one of my favorites. Spaghetti Squash Pie from Paleomg. Link is here:

http://paleomg.com/almost-5-ingrewdient-pizza-spaghetti-pie/

I ended the night with some delicious wine and dark chocolate.

I’m excited to move on with my week and focus on non-food related goals.

Comment. Go ahead.

